The art of ignoring people (by cats and by me)

There is a cat living in my neighbourhood, that gives you a look of the utmost disdain when you pass him. He’s never outside, but always sits in the bay window of his house. Yes, I do consider it HIS house. He does not show his face that much, so when I do catch him I give him a little staredown. He always wins. It is one of the most arrogant cats you can image. Since coming face to face is quite hard (the bay window is a few feet above street level), I sometimes climb on a little wall to look him straight in the eyes. Last time, I took a camera with me while standing in the wall. Besides being stared at by quite a few pedestrians and concerned neighbours, the cat seemed upset about it as well:

Look of disdain

Ignoring you

The last picture is a pure, perfect example of the art of ignoring lesser species like humans, that cats and other felines have mastered better than any other living organism in the universe. After assessing me and deciding that I was not worthy of any more attention, he just stared to the street tiles. Far more interesting of course. I love him!

***

I had a great Sunday yesterday. You know how you have wonderful days that just zip by, or mind-numbing ones where everything goes wrong that just won’t go away? Well, Sunday was a combination of the best of both worlds. It was really nice weather, my boyfriend and I slept in,  but not to much, had a long and relaxing brunch, took a stroll, watched the lovely film Rushmore, played Wario Ware and Mario Kart 64 on the Wii and watched a nice nature documentary. I usually takes me three days to do that! A great end of the weekend.

***

O God, it sounds like my roommate has a flock of friends visiting. The sound like exited hens clucking about the cute rooster in the next pen. You hear them talking all at once, and every 20 seconds they start laughing: “Bokbokbokbokbokbok!!!”. I hate girly girl friend groups, they make so much noise and usually gossip about people that they are ever so friendly to when they see them. Methinks I will scurry away from my room, so I won’t get a migraine.

7 Responses to “The art of ignoring people (by cats and by me)”

  1. adorablay Says:

    That Cat is the best! I love whe cat’s have that attitude about them, it makes me laugh. Ok, so maybe it makes me feel a bit inferior as well. ha!

  2. catsnstuff Says:

    I saw Peeper on your blog. I think he has the same attitude as the cat in the picture posted above! I love it!

  3. adorablay Says:

    Yeah most of the time he does… and he does tend to sit by the window gazing out quite a bit. I think maybe people walk by and think the same about him. He is an attention whore though… which you would never guess it from his attitude.

  4. uneromaineaparis Says:

    hello catsnstuff! your post reminds me my cat shatzy (I’ll put some photos of her soon on my blog); she acts as a real princess towards people she doesn’t know, kind of “how do you dare looking at me?” and she stands other people staring, she always wins, too. But with me she’s adorable, always looking for cuddles, a real cutie. see you!

  5. catsnstuff Says:

    Hello “Romaine”. Please do post pictures of your cat Shatzy. She sounds like a cat that I would like very much! Are you from Rome by the way, of are you French? I’m going to Rome in two days, the cats there are really cool. I’ll post pictures of them when I come back.

  6. uneromaineaparis Says:

    hello, cats! I’m from rome, but i live in paris! btw, cat’s pics are posted! 🙂

  7. catsnstuff Says:

    Hello Romaine :). Where can I find the pics of your wonderful cat? I can’t find them on your blog, and since my French/Italian is a bit rusty it’s hard to look for them.

Leave a Reply

