Feed the Kitty ‘n stuff

One of my favourite cartoons is Feed the Kitty by Chuck Jones. He really was a genius and could capture subtle humour and emotions so beautifully. This video always makes me laugh, and cry, and then laugh again! I’m sure a lot of people know it and have seen Feed the Kitty a lot of times, but it doesn’t hurt to mention it. And I don’t just like Feed the Kitty of course, but almost everything Chuck Jones ever made. One Froggy Evening, Duck Amuck, What’s Opera Doc, High Note and The Dot and The Line are classics as well.

***

Since I don’t have had any cat excursions the last couple days, like the Cat Cabinet or Torre Argentina, I am just posting some cats that I photographed over the last months. I love the pictures, because you can really see the character of each cat:

Humans are strange!

Ain’t I lovable

Scaredy cat

***

I have read some wonderful books lately. One by a Dutch writes called Marjon van Royen. She wrote a book called The Night of the Scream, about her experiences living in Mexico. Since I have been in Mexico I realized how enormously naive I can be sometimes. Although it is a beautiful country with a rich (and horrible) history, I never noticed how corrupt Mexico is, and how oppressive the government is. Still, I would go again in a heartbeat, because most of the people living there are so nice, and the nature is gorgeous.

I have also read The Hotel on the Roof of the World by another Dutch author, Alec Le Sueur. If you want to laugh until tears stream down your face, I strongly recommend it. Le Sueur’s descriptions of his experiences while working for the Holiday Inn in Lhasa, Tibet are extremely funny. Still, he also talks about the way China rules Tibet and gives a great insight in the troubles of the country.

***

I was thinking about a film that I would like to see, but that I am not sure of exists. I would love to see a documentary about a product, from start to finish. And not just the clinical approach (resources, production, end product), but really how many human hand touch the product and the way the product travels. Just following a single toothpick would be interesting. First someone chops down a tree, someone else transports the wood, another person slices the wood, someone packages is, then more transport by truck, even boat or plane, someone else gets the package from the truck/plane/boat, a truck-driver brings it to a warehouse, someone else transports it again, people unpack the box, place it on the shelve, a salesperson sells it and the customer takes it home. I even skip some people, and then imagine that a toothpick only costs about 5 cents… Amazing.

2 Responses to “Feed the Kitty ‘n stuff”

  1. adorablay Says:

    Those photos are just absolutely LOVELY. I particularly love the 1st one, the big wide eyes are just so adorable and they just speak “Love Me”. 🙂
    I love that cartoon too, thanks for bringing it back to my attention, I needed a laugh.

  2. catsnstuff Says:

    I am glad you laughed at the cartoon! I hope you feel better…

Leave a Reply

