Stalker cat + Veluwe + Mid-midlife crisis

My boyfriend and I always love walking through my neighbourhood in Amsterdam, because there are almost always some cats on the streets or sitting in front of a window. About a week ago we saw a cat that was so cute and cuddly that we decided to hang out with her a little bit. When we were leaving, we found out that this calico kitty was quite hard to shake off!

Tortoiseshell cat 1
“I am not interested in your attention, really”

Tortoiseshell cat 2
“What, are you leaving?”

Tortoiseshell cat 3
“Wait for me!”

Tortoiseshell cat 4
“Well hurry up, I need some petting”

Tortoiseshell cat 5
“Resume petting process”

Tortoiseshell cat 6
“I’ll see you guys around, okay?”

Since she belongs to a restaurant close to my house, I will definitely drop by to see her again!

***

This weekend, my boyfriend and I spent a wonderful relaxing weekend on The Veluwe. It is one of the most beautiful nature areas in The Netherlands, with a diverse landscape and animal population.

Six feet under tree
Kind of like the Six Feet Under tree!

Horse in a puddle
Horse chilling in a puddle

Clear skies

Scared stiff
This cat was scared stiff when we saw him. He did not move an inch until my boyfriend started laughing so loud because of his scared expression, and he bolted away like there was no tomorrow.

One of the funniest things we saw were a couple of male turkeys strutting around and demonstrating their feathers. I think turkeys look very weird, almost like something a mad scientist concocted:

Turkey-off 1

Turkey-off 2

Turkey-off 3

White turkey: 1 – Brown turkey: 0

***

I wonder if it is possible to have a mid-midlife crisis. I feel like it is something me and a whole lot of my friends are experiencing. What does Wikipedia say about midlife crisis?

“It commonly involves reflection on what the individual has done with his or her life up to that point, often with feelings that not enough was accomplished. The individuals experiencing such may feel boredom with their lives, jobs, or their partners, and may feel a strong desire to make changes in these areas. […] The condition is most common ranging from the ages of 35-50, and affects men and women differently. Mid life crises last about 3-10 years in men and 2-5 years in women, but length may vary in some people.”

I feel like most of the people I know of my age (25) are already having an unhealthy knack for staring into the future and guessing what life will be like in 10 years. Are we making the right career choices, is the partner we are with right now “good enough” in ten years, will we be happy with what we have now in the coming years? We are already worrying about what our life will be like when we hit the midlife crisis years. We should collectively stop it right now because:

a) It is ruining our enjoyment of our time right now.
b) Things hardly ever go as you expect them to, so why worry about something that will probably not happen.

I don’t think there is anything wrong with thinking about life and how it might be, but there is no shame in taking it a little bit more easy. And that goes for my good old self especially! Now if I could put into practice what I know is the best thing, I would be very happy indeed.

One Response to “Stalker cat + Veluwe + Mid-midlife crisis”

  1. menni Says:

    Of course ‘the best thing’ is a utopia, but enjoying the entertaining sight of lovely cats (and even stranger animals) is definitely a step in the right direction. Littlest things, y’know ;).

Leave a Reply

