Cats in the Met

When I was in New York a few weeks ago, I visited the Metropolitan Museum of Art. It is a great museum, worthy of spending many more hours than the four I gave it. And cats were everywhere, truly an inspiration for artists of all ages. I just thought I’d share some with you.

Alberto Giacommeti – Cat (1954)

Balthus – Thérèse Dreaming (1938)

Fernand Léger – Woman with a Cat (1921)

I particularly love Léger. Actually, I pretty much love everything he has done. I also really like Franciska Clausen, a Danish artist who was a student (and later lover) of Léger.  She made this work:

I bought a postcard of it at the Trapholt Museum in Denmark, and I still find myself looking at it every day.

So um, yeah, nothing really funny here, just some art with cats and without cats. For more kitty art, check out this Flickr group. Next up: video of Roefes!!!

Leave a Reply

